— Hide menu


The band consists of two members; Hladnik and Benko. Between 1997 and 2004, the duet released three albums at different labels: Ma non troppo, Unlike a Virgin and Vain, a Tribute to a Ghost. In 2006, Accession Records – Silence’s current label – released Key Silence, a 2CD anthology / rarities collection. The same year, Silence wrote and produced the 12th Laibach album, Volk.

Silence wrote numerous scores for theatre plays, contemporary dance performances and films. The duet collaborated twelve times with director Matjaz Pograjc and released two soundtracks with music from Pograjc’s plays: Maison des rendez-vous, released by Nika Records in 2003, and Love Unto Death, released in 2007 by the Slovensko Mladinsko Theatre. In 2005, the duet wrote the soundtrack for Gagik Ismailian’s contemporary ballet Veronika decides… The play’s soundtrack was released the same year by the Slovene National Theatre Opera and Ballet Ljubljana. Silence scored four plays directed by Tomaz Pandur. In 2008, the Pekinpah Association released The Passion of the Cold, a double album with music from (and inspired by) Pandur’s plays Barroco and Caligula. In 2009, the duet wrote the soundtrack to Slovenka (Slovenian Girl), a film by Damjan Kozole. They are currently composing the music for Choreo Theatro Company’s new production, the Odyssey.

More information at www.silence-zone.com.